Safely Surrendered Baby Program


The Safely Surrendered Baby law responds to the increasing number of newborn infant deaths due to abandonment in unsafe locations. First created in January 2001, the Safely Surrendered Baby Law was signed permanently into state law in January 2006. The law's intent is to save lives of newborn infants at risk of abandonment by encouraging parents or persons with lawful custody to safely surrender the infant within 72 hours of birth, with no questions asked.

The Law
The Safely Surrendered Baby law (California Health and Safety Code, section 1255.7) provides a safe alternative for the surrender of a newborn baby in specified circumstances. Under the Safely Surrendered Baby law, a parent or person with lawful custody can safely surrender a baby confidentially, and without fear of prosecution, within 72 hours of birth.

The Safely Surrendered Baby law requires the baby be taken to a public or private hospital, designated fire station or other safe surrender site, as determined by the local County Board of Supervisors. No questions will be asked and California Penal Code Section 271.5 protects surrendering individuals from prosecution of abandonment.

The Process
At the time of surrender, a bracelet is placed on the baby for identification purposes and a matching bracelet provided to the parent or lawful guardian, in case the baby is reclaimed. A parent or person with lawful custody has up to 14 days from the time of surrender to reclaim their baby.

Printable version of Safely Surrendered Baby Program

 images3Z72V774.jpg  English | Spanish | Chinese | Russian

 

THERE IS AN OPTION. DON'T ABANDON YOUR BABY.

 NSSB.jpg

The toll-free telephone hotline number provides information and the locations of safe surrender sites.
DIAL 1.877.BABY.SAF (1-877-222-9723)

Back To Homepage                       

 



 
   ,      
 
Connect with Sacramento County
Sign-up for news updates!
Translation Disclaimer